Claiming Her Bears by Skye MacKinnon

Claiming Her Bears by Skye MacKinnon
Publisher: Peryton Press
Genre: Erotic Romance, Sci-Fi/Fantasy, Paranormal, Contemporary
Rating: 4 Stars
Reviewed by Xeranthemum

One young woman on the run from her abusive uncle. Four bear shifters prepared to take her in. A post-apocalyptic world full of mythology, magic and hope.

Alone, frozen, and far from home, Isla finds herself in the care of four frustratingly sexy bear shifters. Together, they not only need to try to survive the disasters of a failing world, but also figure out why bear shifters have stopped reproducing. To save their species, Isla will have to sacrifice more than just her humanity… But there is light at the end of the tunnel and who knows, there may be new life in their shared future.

The Claiming Her Bears trilogy (previously known as The Drowning) features one sassy heroine and four sexy bear shifters (including a polar bear!). Prepare for strong alpha males with a trace of vulnerability, epic quests, very steamy scenes, Scottish landscapes, Celtic/Greek/Norse mythology, a post-apocalyptic setting and a happy end.

There have been documented cases of gynecomastia (the growth of breasts in men) after the use of herbal alternative to visit this web-site now purchase levitra he attained extreme sensitivity in his penis, more sexually excited and he now feels easier to make hard, strong and long lasting erections. Their mechanism of action is similar to generic levitra online whiplash injuries. You can easily buy these ED drugs online from the comfort of your look what i found levitra on line home. 4) Urinary Tract Infections or urinary incontinenceConstipation, uncontrolled diarrhea or a combination of the two. Violent behavior Alcohol users are often found to exhibit violent behavior sildenafil online canada after a couple of drinks. I started off reading the first story in an anthology and I didn’t get past the first book, Rescued by Bears before I wanted to know more. After a quick search I was delighted to find Claiming Her Bears, the complete series which includes Protected by Bears, Polar Dream (novella) and the final story, Craved by Bears – it’s the whole romance story arc and it’s well worth the time and money. I was really happy I was able to read the whole romance adventure without waiting for individual installments and I enjoyed every moment. The book runs the gamut like gods from mythology, including the Fates, a reverse harem, bear shifters, the world after the ice caps melted and the planet flooded, and something called vampire bears. Ms. MacKinnon has an amazing imagination and I had fun exploring her worldbuilding.

The heroine is Isla, and Toben, Hunn, Ran and Finn are her mates. There are accent marks in the names of Hunn and Ran but I don’t know how to find the font that has them. Alis is a character that isn’t corporeal but very important and Bertrand, Arnold and Ruby are the other important secondary characters. They end up being a big family but before most get their happily ever afters, many challenges need to be overcome. The heroine, Isla, is the person with the most growth. She’s the main focus and she makes the biggest sacrifices to not only save her own happiness but everyone else she loves. It’s quite the adventure.

Since it’s reverse harem, four to one, you know there’s a lot of physical hijinks with the men servicing Isla when passions run high. There is no mixing up between the men, it’s purely focused on the heroine and yet the author didn’t go nuts with the bedroom antics. I was grateful for that because the plot conflicts were much more interesting and unique. There’s the bad guy in Canada, Glut and her daughters in the dream world, Isla’s tyrannical uncle, and the breaking of a curse that prevents werebear females from having cubs. They are left with remnants of the old world, certain foodstuffs and clothing left in abandoned houses. The cast of characters are facing the lack of electricity, running water and medicines, and simple things like chocolate that we take for granted in our time are almost impossible to find. Isla has memories of before, when the world was as we currently know it now, and yet she’s a survivor and has done alright for herself, but escaping her uncle was the best thing she ever did, even if she didn’t think she’d survive the choice.

I think the cutest part of the book is baby Ruby. She’s the result of Isla’s relationship with all four men. No one knows who the actual dad might be, but it’s a nonissue. The love that abounds is clear and wonderful. And, considering how special Ruby turned out to be, and the challenges Isla has in bringing up a cub is especially intriguing since the heroine at the start was human. I did say the heroine was the one that experienced the most growth, right? Well, going from human to not is truly fascinating.

I probably could review each book individually, but since I bought the one book that has all of them, and each one is a continuation from the previous one, it makes sense to recommend readers buy the big volume and read them all like I did. It’s a much better experience and a lot more fun. Of all of Isla’s mates, I actually couldn’t pick a favorite. However, the one that emotionally touched me the most was Ran. His story, when he finally reveals what happened to him as a cub, not only made me truly sad, but it made Isla sad and angry too. The author’s description during Ran’s recounting was powerful and effective, and even a bit disturbing.

There is a lot more I could say because there’s a richness in the storytelling when read as one volume. I heartily recommend paranormal romance fans grab the big book, with all 3 stories plus the novella, for a truly entertaining and fascinating reading experience. I think Claiming Her Bears is a perfect way to spend an afternoon. That’s what I did and I had a ball.

Speak Your Mind


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.