Wicked Beat by Olivia Cunning

Wicked Beat by Olivia Cunning
A Sinners on Tour Book
Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca
Genre: Contemporary
Length: Full Length (399 Pages)
Other: BDSM, M/F, Anal Play, Toys, Voyeurism
Rating: Best Book
Reviewed by Foxglove

Voted BoM by LASR Readers 2013 copy

How Far Out Are Your Fantasies? When Rebekah Blake becomes the Sinners’ new soundboard operator, she has no idea that red-hot drummer Eric Sticks is the only man who can give her everything her dirty mind desires…

Wicked Beat is one of Olivia Cunning’s Sinners On Tour books, and, as with the others in this series, it is filled with laughter, tears and some very seriously hot role-playing between the main characters.

Sinners: heavy metal’s ultimate band is on tour, and the men are slowly but surely finding their perfect partners. Brian and Myrna, Jace and Aggie, even Sed has reclaimed the love of his life, Jessica. Drummer Eric Sticks is more than a bit envious, wishing he could find what they have.

After the bus crash, as their soundboard man recovers from his injuries, he suggests a replacement: his sister, Rebekah, a fully trained sound specialist herself. When Eric sees her, he falls hard, but is disappointed when Rebekah only has eyes for Trey Mills. Eric has always been a voyeur, willing to observe when his band mates allow, but after meeting Rebekah, he wants more, and wants to gain control over his ‘minute man’ problems. As for Rebekah, she has some issues, and discovers after traveling with the band, that Eric is the perfect man for her; he’s honest, plain spoken and doesn’t play the kind of head games most men do. As these two grow closer, Rebekah is able to find herself, and realizes Eric may just be the one to give her back her life. But there are roadblocks to the happy ever after for Rebekah and Eric, as her mother is determined that Rebekah marry her old boyfriend Isaac, and goes to great lengths to keep Eric and her daughter apart. Can these two weather the storms and find smooth sailing for their future? Will the secrets all be revealed? Can Rebekah and Eric face the worst and accept whatever may be ahead?

I love this world that Ms. Cunning has built, and her characters are engaging and well developed, with many facets to uncover as you get to know them. My biggest guilty pleasure is heavy metal music, and the groups playing it, so this was a fun peek into a world I’ll never see any other way. I also like that Ms. Cunning shows a softer side to her rockers, making them real people, not just cardboard cutouts or one dimensional jerks. After reading this series, I can say this about Sinners: Brian and Trey may be the soul of Sinners with their marvelous guitars, Jace may provide a solid base, and Sed may be the voice of Sinners, but Eric Sticks is its ever beating heart.

Rebekah ‘Reb’ Blake is talented, smart and determined to wring everything she can out of life. After her battle with cancer, she has some serious issues with self worth and body image, and her ex certainly didn’t help by telling her she was unattractive to him. When not one but two of the Sinners come on to her, she starts to hope he was wrong. As she grows closer to Eric, he is able to bring out the spontaneous and wild woman that lives inside, and I loved watching as Rebekah blossomed though her relationship with Eric. I liked her strength, and her willingness to try it all, at least once. And I loved that she was able to figure out what Eric’s problems in the bedroom were and come up with unique and totally hot ways to help him.

Eric Sticks is talented, sexy and, beneath it all, very lonely. He wants what his friends have found, but is willing to settle for what he can have; vicarious pleasure through voyeurism, and the occasional touch when allowed. When Eric met Rebekah, it was instant attraction for him, and he felt they were meant for each other; she even had the same blue hair color as he did. When she seems to want Trey more, he hopes she will agree to at least let him watch them together. But, for the first time, Eric doesn’t really want to watch, and I loved watching as he let Rebekah see the side he keeps hidden; the sweet and sexy man behind the wild drummer of Sinners. I really enjoy watching these two together, wondering just what they would get up to next.

Wicked Beat is not all fun and joy. There is the tension when Rebekah’s mother loses it and tries to sabotage Eric and Rebekah’s relationship, and her ex, Isaac, does his share to derail them as well. There are several surprising secrets in this one, and as they are revealed, not everyone is happy with the outcomes. But there are some very touching moments, especially when Rebekah has to go to the doctor for a checkup and Eric pours his heart out to her. The roles these two play, in and out of the bedroom, are such fun to see, and each one is an adventure, as is the screaming hot sex these two manage to have in the most unusual places. There were some tears shed as I read, and many smiles and giggles too.

To get the true feel for this tour with Sinners, to see how it all rolled out, I recommend the following reading order for the series: Backstage Pass, Rock Hard, Hot Ticket, Wicked Beat, and finally Double Time.

Speak Your Mind