The Death Ship Trilogy by Arabella Wyatt

The Death Ship Trilogy by Arabella Wyatt
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Genre: Historical, Paranormal, Sci-Fi/Fantasy, Suspense/Mystery
Length: Short Story (133 pages)
Rating: 3.5 stars
Reviewed by Orchid

Collecting its victims, marking its witnesses, terrorizing the world, the Death Ship sails through eternity.

Allied with no nation, following no faith, allowing no hope, the Death Ship terrorizes the world. Its captain is the breath of cold air on your cheek in the dead of night. His hand is the presence on your shoulder when alone in the dark. Turn your head, look from the corner of your eye, see the gaps between the worlds and fear the approach of the Death Ship.

Arabella Wyatt, author of the Steampunked Pirates, uses fantasy to take a clinical look at the nature of superstition and the dangers of fundamentalist believers rejecting scientific truth. In doing so, she creates a fable for our times, showing how such beliefs will result in the downfall of humanity.

Through three different ages from 31BC through 1916 to the future, the Death Ship stalks its prey. Humans’ own nature invite the ship and its skeletal crew to capture the dead. Egyptian versus Romans; World War 1 Battle of Jutland; and religious battles of the future engaged my interest and I read on to find out what the finale of each story. Each of the three ages is a complete book threaded together with by the arrival of the Death Ship.

The way the humans respond to the appearance of the ship reflect the different ages. Superstitious terror in 31BC, fighting back with scientific advances and confidence in World War 1 where it appears the Death Ship is losing. The skeletal Captain never knows when to give up and returns to the fray in the future and into space.

Born out of ignorance, banished by science and reborn through a different type of ignorance the Death Ship sails on, harvesting it’s dead which in turn destroys the knowledge of humans to fight against it. Who will win, humans or the dead? Until the end of the third book I didn’t know which would overcome the other, but it was well worth reading the whole three books to find out.

Speak Your Mind