Lady Eve’s Indiscretion by Grace Burrowes


Lady Eve’s Indiscretion by Grace Burrowes
Publisher: Sourcebooks
Genre: Historical
Length: Full Length (393 pages)
Heat Level: Spicy
Rating: 5 stars
Reviewed by Camellia

Lady Eve’s Got The Perfect Plan

Pretty, petite Evie Windham has been more indiscreet than her parents, the Duke and Duchess of Moreland, suspect. Fearing that a wedding night would reveal her past, she’s running out of excuses to dodge adoring swains. Lucas Denning, the newly titled Marquis of Deene, has reason of his own for avoiding marriage. So Evie and Deene strike a deal, each agreeing to be the other’s decoy. At this rate, matrimony could be avoided indefinitely…until the two are caught in a steamy kiss that no one was supposed to see.

Lady Eve, pretty, petite, with phenomenal inner strength and awareness of who she is as an individual, is the youngest of the Duke and Duchess of Moreland’s children.

The marvelous Morelands with all their scandals, familial loyalty, and love rally around their little Evie as she begins to live again after seven years of struggling back from a horrible accident and an even more horrible experience with a crude, deceiving cad. She worked long and hard to regain her physical good health and has tried to do the same with her heart but it still has deep wounds that refuse to heal. The family’s humor, honesty, and protectiveness is amazing to see as they set in to see that she has a chance to become sparkling, mischievous, happy person she had once been.

Lucas Dennning, the new Marquis of Deene is a longtime friend and neighbor of the Morelands and served on the peninsula with two of Eve’s brothers. He and Eve shy away from each other because of a kiss under the mistletoe in an uninhibited moment when Eve was quite young. He has always been like another brother, but little by little, even though both of them vow they are just protecting each other from the social “hunters”, they find a unique connection that begins to smolder, sizzle then flame into a breathtaking love.

As Marquis of Deene, Lucas has a load of responsibility to deal with, something quite new to him. Also, he is determined to gain custody of his dead sister’s child to honor his sister’s wish and to give the darling little Georgina a home and place in society that befits her heritage on her mother’s side. Lucas also has Anthony, his cousin, to deal with. Anthony has supervised the stewards over the Deene lands for years. He will inherit the title should Lucas die before producing an heir.

The conflicts that ensue create intriguing, often heart-pounding moments. But the most captivating and sparking moments are the ones that Eve and Lucas share as their love grows with the various members of the Moreland family giving it a nudge every chance they get.

Grace Burrowes’ stories about each of the Duke and Duchess’ of Moreland offspring as they find true love are all magical and Lady Eve’s story is one of the best of them. Even though the reader is immersed in Lucas and Eve’s story, we also get glimpses of how Eve’s siblings are faring and how they all still secretly maneuver to influence events, to protect their own, and nurture each other as well as their own young families.

Ms. Burrowes’ well-researched historical settings, her exquisite writing style, her talent to develop riveting characters, her skill in sprinkling humor in at just the right time, and her delectable, sensual, compelling love scenes make Lady Eve’s Indiscretion  a spellbinding, vicarious experience for the reader.

If you enjoy Regency historical, I recommend the entire series of books about the Morelands. Each book is quite different from the other yet they join in such ways as to show the strong, unbreakable ties that bind the family into a cohesive unit that will stand against the world to protect their own. The stories are replete with conflicts, rich with humor, and sizzle with love. They are like a set of jewels that go together with each of them uniquely cut to make them sparkle in their own special way.

I’m looking forward to Jenny’s story that will be the eighth book.

Speak Your Mind